Gala Hollywood Premiere, Thursday, December 19, 1968 @ 8:00 PM
Regular Engagement: Friday, December 20, 1968 - Tuesday, March 25. 1969 (14 Weeks)
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
Starring Dick Van Dyke and Sally Ann Howes
Directed by Ken Hughes
A United Artists Release in Super Panavision and Technicolor
Presented in 70mm, 6-Track Stereophonic Sound
144 Minutes / Rated G
Reserved Seat Engagement Seats at Box Office or by Mail
Box Office Open Daily, 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM;
Sunday, 12:00 Noon - 9:00 PM
MasterCard and BankAmericaCard Accepted

Prices and Showtimes:

Evenings (Monday - Thursday) at 8:30 PM, and (Sundays) at 8:15 PM:
Orchestra: $3.50 / Orchestra Front: $3.00

Evenings (Friday, Saturday and Holidays) at 8:30 PM:
Orchestra: $4.00 / Orchestra Front $3.50

Matinees (Wednesday) at 2:00 PM, and (Saturday) at 1:30 and 5:00 PM:
Orchestra: $3.00 / Orchestra Front: $2.50

Matinees (Sunday and Holidays) at 1:30 and 5:00 PM:
Orchestra: $3.50 / Orchestra Front $3.00

--

Extra Holiday Matinees, Monday, December 23, 1968 through Friday, Jabuary 3, 1969 at 1:30 and 5:00 PM

--

Special New Year's Eve Shows,Tuesday, December 31, 1968 at 8:15 and 11:30 PM:
Orchestra: $3.50 / Orchestra Front: $3.00

--

Interested in a Theatre Party?
for Theatre Party and Group Sales Information, call Elayne Blythe at 464-6166
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED

Reported Gross "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang" @ $2.50 - $4.00
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, December 24,1968
(6 Days)
12
 
2
Tuesday, December 31,1968
17
 
3
Tuesday, January 7, 1969
14
 
4
Tuesday, January 14, 1969
12
 
5
Tuesday, January 21, 1969
12
 
6
Tuesday, January 28, 1969
12
 
7
Tuesday, February 4, 1969
12
 
8
Tuesday, February 11, 1969
12
 
9
Tuesday, February 18, 1969
12
 
10
Tuesday, February 25, 1969
13
 
11
Tuesday, March 4, 1969
12
 
12
Tuesday, March 11, 1969
12
 
13
Tuesday, March 18, 1969
12
 
14
Tuesday, March 25, 1969
12
 
Totals
97 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
14 Weeks
Average Performance: $
176
 
Source: Variety
 
World Premiere, Wednesday, March 26, 1969 @ 7:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Thursday, March 27, 1969 - Thursday, June 12, 1969 (11 Weeks)
The Love Bug
Starring Dean Jones and Michele Lee
Directed by Robert Stevenson
A Walt Disney Production in Technicolor
A Buena Vista Ditribution Company Release
108 Minutes / Rated G
Daily at 12:00, 2:05, 4:10, 6:15, 8:20 and 10:25 PM

Added Friday, April 11, 1969:

"Winnie the Pooh and the Blustrey Day" with the voices of Sebastian Cabot and Sterling Holloway / Directed by Wolfgang Reitherman / A Walt Disney Production in Technicolor / A Buena Vista Distribution Company Release

Complete Show Daily at: 12:20, 2:50, 5:15, 7:45 and 10:10 PM


At the Premiere:
"Motion Picture Stars! Television Personalities! Famous Race Car Drivers with Their Big Souped-up Cars! Rock Groups! Plus a Bevy of the Prettiest Love Bugs in Town!


Sunday, May 18, 1969:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 42nd Birthday Today

Reported Gross "The Love Bug"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, April 3, 1969 (8 Days)
43
 
2
Thursday, April 10, 1969
42
 
3
Thursday, April 17, 1969
35
 
4
Thursday, April 24, 1969
35
 
5
Thursday, April 28, 1969
35
 
6
Thursday, May 1, 1969
35
 
7
Thursday, May 8, 1969
35
 
8
Thursday, May 15, 1969
35
 
9
Thursday, May 22, 1969
35
 
10
Thursday, May 29, 1969
35
 
11
Thursday, June 5, 1969
35
 
12
Thursday, June 12, 1969
35
 
Totals
85 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
12 Weeks
Average Performance: $
435
 
Source: Variety
 
Friday, June 13, 1969 - Tuesday, August 19, 1969 (10 Weeks)
True Grit
Starring John Wayne and Glen Campbell
Directed by Henry Hathaway
A Paramount Picture in Technicolor
128 Minutes / Rated M
Daily at: 12:45, 3:10, 5:35, 8:00 and 10:25 PM

Reported Gross "True Grit"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, June 17, 1969 (5 Days)
25
 
2
Tuesday, June 24, 1969
35
 
3
Tuesday, July 1, 1969
35
 
4
Tuesday, July 8, 1969
35
 
5
Tuesday, July 15, 1969
35
 
6
Tuesday, July 22, 1969
35
 
7
Tuesday, July 29, 1969
35
 
8
Tuesday, August 5, 1969
35
 
9
Tuesday, August 12, 1969
35
 
10
Tuesday, August 19, 1969
35
 
Totals
68 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
10 Weeks
Average Performance: $
340
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, August 20, 1969 - Tuesday, September 30, 1969 (6 Weeks)
The Learning Tree
Starring Kyle Johnson and Alex Clarke
Directed by Gordon Parks
A Winger Production in Technicolor and Panavision
A Warner Bros. Seven Arts Release
107 Minutes / Rated M
Daily at: 12:20, 2:20, 4:20, 6:20, 8:20 and 10:20 PM

Reported Gross "The Learning Tree"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, August 26, 1969
42
 
2
Tuesday, September 2, 1969
42
 
3
Tuesday, September 9, 1969
42
 
4
Tuesday, September 16, 1969
42
 
5
Tuesday, September 23, 1969
42
 
6
Tuesday, September 30, 1969
42
 
Totals
36 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
6 Weeks
Average Performance: $
252
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, October 1, 1969 - Thursday, December 18, 1969 (11 Weeks)
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Starring Paul Newman and Robert Redford
Directed by George Roy Hill
A 20th Century-Fox Presentation in Panavision and DeLuxe Color
110 Minutes / Rated M
"The Magic Pear Tree" with the voices of Paul Frees and Agnes Moorhead / Directed by Charles Swenson / A Bing Crosby / Murakami-Wolf Production
Sunday throught Friday at: 12:20, 2:20, 4:20, 6:20, 8:20 and 10:20 PM
Saturday at: 12:30, 2:50, 5:10, 7:30, 9:50 and 12:10 AM
 
Sunday, October 19 , 1969
Danny Kaye (56) Forecourt Ceremonies
Monday, November 24, 1969
Gene Kelly (57) Footprint Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, October 9, 1969 (8 Days)
48
 
2
Thursday, October 16, 1969
43
 
3
Thursday, October 23, 1969
43
 
4
Thursday, October 30, 1969
43
 
5
Thursday, November 6, 1969
43
 
6
Thursday, November 13, 1969
43
 
7
Thursday, November 20, 1969
43
 
8
Thursday, November 27, 1969
43
 
9
Thursday, December 4, 1969
43
 
10
Thursday, December 11, 1969
43
 
11
Thursday, December 18, 1969
43
 
Totals
78 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
11 Weeks
Average Performance: $
478
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Gala West Coast Premiere, Friday, December 19, 1969 @ 7:00 PM
Regular Engagement: Saturday, December 20, 1969 - Thursday, September 24, 1970 (40 Weeks)
Hello, Dolly!
Starring Barbra Streisand and Walter Matthau
Directed by Gene Kelly
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in Todd-AO and DeLuxe Color
Presented in 70mm, 6-Track Stereophonic Sound
146 Minutes / Rated G
Reserved Seat Engagement Seats at Box Office or by Mail
Box Office Open Daily, 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM;
Sunday, 12:00 Noon - 9:00 PM
MasterCard and BankAmericaCard Accepted

Prices and Showtimes:

Evenings (Sunday - Thursday) at 8:30 PM:
Orchestra: $4.00 / Orchestra Front: $3.50

Evenings (Friday, Saturday and Holidays) at 8:30 PM:
Orchestra: $4.50 / Orchestra Front $4.00

Matinees (Wednesday) at 1:30 PM, and (Saturday) at 1:30 and 5:00 PM:
Orchestra: $3.50 / Orchestra Front: $3.00

Matinees (Sunday and Holidays) at 1:30 and 5:00 PM:
Orchestra: 4.00 / Orchestra Front $3.50

--

Extra Holiday Matinees Saturday, December 20, 1969 - Sunday, January 4, 1970 at 5:00 PM
Wednesday, December 31, 1969: New Year's Eve at 8:30 and 12:00 Midnight:
Orchestra: $5.00 / Front Orchestra: $4.50

--

Thursday, February 12, 1970: Lincoln's Birthday Extra Matinee at 5:00 PM

Monday, February 23, 1970: Washington's Birthday Extra Matinee at 5:00 PM
Premiere Sponsored by The Women's Guild of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Stars! Lights! Excitement! Stars of "Hello, Dolly!" in Person: Barbra Streisand, Walter Matthau and Many More!

Stars attending the Premiere:
Joyce Ames / Polly Bergen / George Burns / Barbara Benton / Binnie Barns / Milton Berle / Burt Bacharach / Glen Campbell / Joan Collins / Diahann Carroll / Joanne Dru / Kirk Douglas / Patty Duke / Angie Dickenson / Samantha Eggars / Eva Gabor / Greer Garson / Cary Grant / Linda Harrison / Goldie Hawn / Ross Hunter / High Hefner / Lawrence Harvey / Gene Kelly / Lainie Kazan / Anita Louise / Janet Leigh / Burt Lancaster / Abbe Lane / Trini Lopez / Marianne McAndrew / Pat Morrow / Anthony Newley / Nancy Olsen / Gregory Peck / Rex Reed / Cesar Romero / Dale Robertson / Michael Romanoff / Ann Rutherford / Dinah Shore / Jean Simmons / Nancy Sinatra / Barbara Stanwyck / Raquel Welch

Army Archerd, Master of Ceremonies

 

 

 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.