Tuesday, December 25, 1956 - Tuesday, February 19, 1957 (8 Weeks)
Anastasia
Starring Ingrid Bergman and Yul Brynner
Directed by Anatole Litvak
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
105 Minutes
"Barbeque Brawl" Starring Tom and Jerry / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
"Spirit of the Race" Produced by Edmund Reek / A 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Special in DeLuxe Color

Reported Gross "Anastasia"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, January 1, 1957 (8 Days)
40
 
2
Tuesday, January 8, 1957
35
 
3
Tuesday, January 15, 1957
35
 
4
Tuesday, January 22, 1957
35
 
5
Tuesday, January 29, 1957
35
 
6
Tuesday, February 5, 1957
35
 
7
Tuesday, February 12, 1957
35
 
8
Tuesday, February 19, 1957
35
 
Totals
57 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
285
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, February 20, 1957 - Wednesday, March 14, 1957 (3 Weeks)
Oh, Men! Oh, Women!
Starring Dan Dailey and Ginger Rogers
Directed by Nunnally Johnson
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
90 Minutes
"Magoo Goes Overboard" with the voice of Jim Backus / Directed by Pete Burness / A UPA Production in CinemaScope and Tecnicolor / A Columbia Pictures Release
"Port of Sports" Produced by Edmund Reek / A 20th Century-Fox Movietone CinemaScope Special in DeLuxe Color

Reported Gross "Oh, Men! Oh, Women!"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Wednesday, February 27, 1957
(8 Days)
48
 
2
Wednesday, March 6, 1957
42
 
3
Wednjesday, March 13, 1957
42
 
Totals
22 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
132
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Gala World Premiere, Thursday, March 14, 1957 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Friday, March 15, 1957 - Friday, April 19 1957 (5 Weeks)
Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison
Starring Deborah Kerr and Robert Mitchum
Directed by John Huston
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
108 Minutes

Stars attending the Premiere:
Merry Andrews / Pat Boone / Joan Collins / Gary / Cooper / Wendell Corey / Jeanne Crain / Anne Francis / Kathryn Grayson / Susan Hayward / Charlton Heston / Jeff Hunter / Rick Jason / Glynis Johns / Deborah Kerr / Betty Lou Keim / Alan Ladd / Jack Lemmon / Gordon MacRae / Jayne Mansfield / James Mason / Dorothy McGuire / Terry Moore / Rita Moreno / Don Murray / Lori Nelson / Sheree North / Margaret O'Brien / Debra Paget / Gregory Peck / Dick Powell / Barbara Rush / Eva Marie Saint / Robert Stack / Barry Sullivan / Robert Wagner / Clifton Webb / Joanne Woodward / Dana Wynter

Walter O'Keefe, Master of Ceremonies

Marine Color Guard / Lights! / News Reels! / Marine Band Parade / Academy Award Nominee Guests

Premiere Tickets: $5.00 & $3.00

Reported Gross "Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Friday, March 22, 1957 (9 Days)
41
 
2
Friday, March 29, 1957
35
 
3
Friday, April 5, 1957
35
 
4
Friday, April 12, 1957
35
 
5
Friday, April 19, 1957
35
 
Totals
37 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
181
 
Source: Variety
 
Saturday, April 20, 1957 - Thursday, May 16, 1957 (4 Weeks)
Boy on a Dolphin
Starring Alan Ladd and Clifton Webb
Directed by Jean Negulesco
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
111 Minutes

Reported Gross "Boy on a Dolphin"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, April 25, 1957 (6 Days)
30
 
2
Thursday, May 2, 1957
35
 
3
Thursday, May 9, 1957
35
 
4
Thursday, May 16, 1957
35
 
Totals
27 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
135
 
Source: Variety
 
Friday, May 17, 1957 - Thursday, June 13, 1957 (4 Weeks)
Desk Set
Starring Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn
Directed by Walter Lang
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
103 Minutes
"Scat Cats" Starring Spike and Tyke / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
Friday, May 18th, 1957:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 30th Birthday Today

Reported Gross "Desk Set"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, May 23, 1957
35
 
2
Thursday, May 30, 1957
35
 
3
Thursday, June 6, 1957
35
 
4
Thursday, June 13, 1957
35
 
Totals
28 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
140
 
Source: Variety
 
Friday, June 14, 1957 - Thursday, July 18, 1957 (5 Weeks)
Island in the Sun
Starring James Mason and Joan Fontaine
Directed by Robert Rossen
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
119 Minutes
"Magoo Breaks Par" with the voice of Jim Backus / Directed by Pete Burness / A UPA Production in CinemaScope and Tecnicolor / A Columbia Pictures Release

Reported Gross "Island in the Sun"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, June 20, 1957
35
 
2
Thursday, June 27, 1957
35
 
3
Thursday, July 4, 1957
35
 
4
Thursday, July 11, 1957
35
 
5
Thursday, July 18, 1957
35
 
Totals
35 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
175
 
Source: Variety


 
Friday, July 19, 1957 - Tuesday, August 27, 1957 (6 Weeks)
An Affair to Remember
Starring Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr
Directed by Leo McCarey
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
119 Minutes
"Tabasco Road" Starring Speedy Gonzales / Directed by Robert McKimson / A Warner Bros. Cartoon in Technicolor

Reported Gross "An Affair to Remember"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, July 23, 1957 (6 Days)
30
 
2
Tuesday, July 30, 1957
35
 
3
Tuesday, August 6, 1957
35
 
4
Tuesday, August 13, 1957
35
 
5
Tuesday, August 20, 1957
35
 
6
Tuesday, August 27, 1957
35
 
Totals
48 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
6 Weeks
Average Performance: $
205
 
Source: Variety

Photo taken Thursday, August 22, 1957
 
Wednesday, August 28, 1957 - Thursday, October 17, 1957 (7 Weeks)
The Sun Also Rises
Starring Tyrone Power and Ava Gardner
Directed by Henry King
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
130 Minutes
"Tom's Photo Finish" Starring Tom and Jerry / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
"Give and Tyke" Starring Spike and Tyke / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
 
Tuesday, September 3, 1957; from the back of this press photo:

"The Confidential Trial Jury is shown as they enter the Grauman's Chinese Theatre, passing the famous footprints and handprints of many famous stars of the past and present. The jury will examine "row 35" mentioned in a story concerning actress Maureen O'Hara.

(INP Soundphoto by George Lacks, L.A. Herald-Express)"

Reported Gross "The Sun Also Rises"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, September 5, 1957 (8 Days)
32
 
2
Thursday, September 12, 1957
28
 
3
Thursday, September 19, 1957
28
 
4
Thursday, September 27, 1957
28
 
5
Thursday, October 3, 1957
28
 
6
Thursday, October 10, 1957
28
 
7
Thursday, October 17, 1957
28
 
Totals
50 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
200[;
 
Source: Variety
 
Gala Hollywood Premiere, Thursday, October 17, 1957 @ 8:30 PM
Friday, October 18, 1957 - Thursday, November 14, 1957 (4 Weeks)
My Man Godfrey
Starring June Allyson and David Niven
Directed by Henry Koster
A Universal-International Picture in CinemaScope and EastmanColor
92 Minutes
Stars attending the Premiere:
June Allyson / Keith Anders / Jack Bailey / Molly Bea / Edgar Bergan / Rossano Brazzi / James Cagney / Rory Calhoun / Jack Carson / Jeff Chandler / Linda Cristal / Tony Curtis / Sandra Dee / Jeff Donnell / Eva Gabor / Zsa Zsa Gabor / Joanne Gilbert / Ingrid Goude / Kathryn Grant / Charlton Heston / Rock Hudson / Jeffrey Hunter / Martha Hyer / Shirley Jones / Curt Jergens / Burt Lancaster / Janet Leigh / Art Linkletter / Jock Malone / Dorothy Malone / Agnes Mooreheard / Audie Murphy / George Nader / Leslie Nielsen / Kim Novak / Margaret O'Brien / Jane Powell / John Saxon / Gia Scala / Barbara Stanwyck / Jan Sterling / Jeffrey Stone / Esther Williams / Chill Wills / Nathalie Wood / Jane Wyman

Premiere Tickets: $3.50

Reported Gross "My Man Godfrey"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, October 24, 1957 (8 Days)
43
 
2
Thursday, October 31, 1957
42
 
3
Thursday, November 7, 1957
42
 
4
Thursday, November 14, 1957
42
 
Totals
29 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
169
 
Source: Variety

 
Friday, November 15, 1957 - Tuesday, December 17, 1957 (5 Weeks)
Kiss Them for Me
Starring Cary Grant and Jayne Mansfield
Directed by Stanley Donen
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
105 Minutes
"Magoo's Masquerade" with the voice of Jim Backus / Directed by Rudy Larriva / A UPA Production in CinemaScope and Tecnicolor / A Columbia Pictures Release

Reported Gross "Kiss Them for Me"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, November 19, 1957 (5 Days)
25
 
2
Tuesday, November 26, 1957
35
 
3
Tuesday, December 3, 1957
35
 
4
Tuesday, December 10, 1957
35
 
5
Tuesday, December 17, 1957
35
 
Totals
33 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
165
 
Source: Variety
 
Gala Invitational Premiere, Wednesday, December 18, 1957 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Thursday, December 19, 1957 - Tuesday, February 4, 1958 (7 Weeks)
A Farewell to Arms
Starring Rock Hudson and Jennifer Jones
Directed by Charles Vidor
A Selznick Studio Production in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
Released by 20th Century-Fox
152 Minutes
General Admission:
Weekday Matinees: $1.50 including tax
Evenings: $2.00 including tax
Sunday and Holidays: $2.00 including tax
Stars attending the Premiere:
Lauren Bacall / Anne Baxter / Constance Bennett / Humphrey Bogart / Eddie Braken / MacDonald Carey / Jeff Chandler / Valentina Cortesa / Joan Crawford / Linda Darnell / Lorraine Day / Gloria DeHaven / Paul Douglas / Irene Dunne / Leo Durocher / Douglas Fairbanks, Jr. / Rhonda Fleming / John Garfield / Mitzi Gaynor / Jane Greer / Susan Hayward / Paul Henreid / John Hodiak / Kathleen Hughes / Spike Jones / Louis Jordan / Danny Kaye / Evelyn Keyes / Janet Leigh / Joyce MacKenzie / Hugh Marlow / Virginia Mayo / Dorothy McGuire / Jayne Meadows / Millard Mitchell / Robert Mitchum / Constance Moore / Jean Moorehead / Merle Oberon / Peggy O'Connor / Michael O'Shea / Debra Paget / Gregory Peck / Jane Powell / Ginger Rogers / Rosalind Russell / Constance Smith / Jan Sterling / K. T. Stevens / Marta Toren / Vera-Ellen / David Wayne / Clifton Webb / Helen Westcott / Shelly Winters

Free Grandstand Seats - Come Early!
Day and Date:
Los Angeles Theatre, Downtown
Fox Westwood Village Theatre, Westwood
Academy Theatre, Ingelwood
Alex Theatre, Glendale
La Reina Theatre, Sherman Oaks
Academy Theatre, Pasadena
Fox West Coast Theatre, Long Beach

Added Tuesday, December 31, 1957
Vogue Theatre, Oxnard
Village Theatre, Palm Springs
Fox Pomona Theatre, Pomona
Fox Riverside Theatre, Riverside
Arlington Theatre, Santa Barbara
 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.