Gala Invitational Premiere, Wednesday, December 18, 1957 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Thursday, December 19, 1957 - Tuesday, February 4, 1958 (7 Weeks)
A Farewell to Arms
Starring Rock Hudson and Jennifer Jones
Directed by Charles Vidor
A Selznick Studio Production in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
A 20th Century-Fox Release
152 Minutes
General Admission:
Weekday Matinees: $1.50 including tax
Evenings: $2.00 including tax
Sunday and Holidays: $2.00 including tax
Day and Date:
Los Angeles Theatre, Downtown
Fox Westwood Village Theatre, Westwood
Academy Theatre, Ingelwood
Alex Theatre, Glendale
La Reina Theatre, Sherman Oaks
Academy Theatre, Pasadena
Fox West Coast Theatre, Long Beach

Added Tuesday, December 31, 1957
Vogue Theatre, Oxnard
Village Theatre, Palm Springs
Fox Pomona Theatre, Pomona
Fox Riverside Theatre, Riverside
Arlington Theatre, Santa Barbara

Reported Gross "A Farewell to Arms" @ 75¢ - $2.00
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, December 24, 1957
25
 
2
Tuesday, December 31, 1957
28
 
3
Tuesday, January 7, 1958
28
 
4
Tuesday, January 14, 1958
28
 
5
Tuesday, January 21, 1958
28
 
6
Tuesday, January 28, 1957
28
 
7
Tuesday, February 4, 1958
28
 
Totals
49 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
193
 
Source: Variety
 
  Wednesday, February 5, 1958 through Monday, April 7, 1958 (4 Weeks):

"Chinese Closed for Re-Building. Watch for Spectacular Opening Announcement of New Policy"
 
Gala Invitational World Premiere, Tuesday, April 8, 1958 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Wednesday, April 9, 1958 - Tuesday, December 16, 1958 (37 Weeks)
Windjammer
Starring Yngvar Kjelstrup and Niles Arnsten
Directed by Bill Coleran and Louis De Rochemont III
A National Theatres Presentation in Cinemiracle, EastmanColor and Stereophonic Sound
142 Minutes

All Seats Reserved. Mail Orders Accepted 8 Weeks in Advance.

Tickets on Sale at the Chinese Box Office, Open 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM Daily. Also at Southern California Music Company, 737 South Hill Street, and at all Mutual Agencies or Your Local Fox West Coast Theatre

Matinees
(Wednesday - Saturday): $ 1.75 & $2.50
(Sunday and Holidays): $2.20 & $2.85

Evenings
(Sunday - Thursday): $2.20 & $3.50
(Friday, Saturday and Holidays): $2.50 & $3.50
All Prices Including Tax


Stars attending the Premiere:
Nick Adams / Anna Maria Alberghetti / Eddie Albert / Ann Blyth / Joan Banks / Greg Bautzer / Molly Dee / William Bendix / Edgar Bergen / Ben Blue / Ernest Borgnine / Rosemarie Bowie / Scott Brady / Peter Brown / Raymond Burr / Red Buttons / Ed Byrnes / Gower Chanpion / Marge Champion / Rosemary Clooney / Steve Cochran / Charles Coburn / Joan Collins / Wendell Corey / Jeanne Crain / Donald Crisp / Robert Cummings / Michael Dante / Linda Darnell / William Demarest / Brian Donlevy / José Ferrer / Mel Ferrer / Zsa Zsa Gabor / James Garner / Connie Haines / June Havoc / Rita Hayworth / Paul Henreid / Charlton Heston / Robert Horton / Jeff Hunter / David Janssen / Anne Jeffries / George Jessel / Carolyn Jones / Howard Keel / Jack Kelly / Otto Kruegar / Burt Lancaster / Hope Lange / Angela Lansbury / Emily La Rue / Jack La Rue / Peggy Lee / Jerry Lewis / Art Linkletter / Frank Lovejoy / Gisele MacKenzie / Margo / Dorothy Malone / Shirley MacLaine / Marilyn Maxwell / Virginia Mayo / Dan O'Herlihy / Michael O'Shea / Peter Potter / Vincent Price / George Raft / John Raitt / Donna Reed / Gale Robbins / Cliff Robertson / Robert Stack / Rod Sterling / Venetia Stevenson / Russ Tamblyn / Clair Trevor / Forrest Tucker / Miyoshi Umeki / Robert Wynn / Mary Wynn / Dana Wynters / Efram Zimbalist, Jr.

Lights! Cameras! Atmosphere! Entertainment! Bleachers!
 
"Hollywood's Internationally Famed Chinese Has Been Recreated. . . By A $500,000 Renovation. . . Into the World's Most Fabulous Theatre - The New Home of Cinemiracle!"
Sunday, May 18, 1958:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 31st Birthday Today
Tuesday, September 16, 1958
Elmer C. Rhoden (65) Plaque Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "Windjammer" @ $1.75 - $3.50
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, April 15, 1958 (8 Days)
11
 
2
Tuesday, April 15, 1958
10
 
3
Tuesday, April 22, 1958
10
 
4
Tuesday, April 29, 1958
10
 
5
Tuesday, May 6, 1958
10
 
6
Tuesday, May 13, 1958
10
 
7
Tuesday, May 20,1958
10
 
8
Tuesday, May 27,1958
10
 
9
Tuesday, June 3,1958
10
 
10
Tuesday, June 10,1958
10
 
11
Tuesday, June 17,1958
10
 
12
Tuesday, June 24,1958
10
 
13
Tuesday, July 1,1958
10
 
14
Tuesday, July 8,1958
11
 
15
Tuesday, July 15,1958
10
 
16
Tuesday, July 22,1958
10
 
17
Tuesday, July 29,1958
10
 
18
Tuesday, August 5,1958
10
 
19
Tuesday, August 12,1958
10
 
20
Tuesday, August 19,1958
10
 
21
Tuesday, August 26,1958
10
 
22
Tuesday, September 2,1958
11
 
23
Tuesday, September 9,1958
10
 
24
Tuesday, September 16,1958
10
 
25
Tuesday, September 23,1958
10
 
26
Tuesday, September 30,1958
10
 
27
Tuesday, October 7,1958
10
 
28
Tuesday, October 14,1958
10
 
29
Tuesday, October 21,1958
10
 
30
Tuesday, October 28,1958
10
 
31
Tuesday, November 4,1958
10
 
32
Tuesday, November 11,1958
11
 
33
Tuesday, November 18,1958
10
 
34
Tuesday, November 25,1958
10
 
35
Tuesday, December 2,1958
11
 
36
Tuesday, December 9,1958
10
 
37
Tuesday, December 16, 1958
10
 
Totals
260 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
37 Weeks
Average Performance: $
375
 
Source: Variety
 
 
  Wednesday, December 17, 1958 and Thursday, December 18, 1958

"Theatre Dark to prepare for 'Auntie Mame' "
 
 
Friday, December 19, 1958 - Tuesday, April 7, 1959 (16 Weeks)
Auntie Mame
Starring Rosalind Russell and Forrest Tucker
Directed by Morton DaCosta
A Warner Bros. Picture in Technirama and Technicolor
143 Minutes
Doors Open 9:45 AM Daily
Showtimes: 10:00 AM, 12:25 PM, 3:00, 5:30, 8:10 and 10:45 PM

 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.