Friday, December 16, 1955 - Thursday, January 12, 1956 (4 Weeks)
The Rains of Ranchipur
Starring Lana Turner and Richard Burton
Directed by Jean Negulesco
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope, DeLuxe Color and Stereophonic Sound
104 Minutes
"Wonders of Manhattan" Narrated by George Jessel / Directed by Harry Foster / A Columbia Musical Travelark in CinemaScope and Technicolor
Tom and Jerry Color Cartoon

Reported Gross "The Rains of Ranchipur"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, December 22, 1955
35
 
2
Thursday, December 29, 1955
35
 
3
Thursday, January 5, 1956
35
 
4
Thursday, january 12, 1956
35
 
Totals
28 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
105
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Friday, January 13, 1956 - Wednesday, February 15, 1956 (4 Weeks)
The Lieutenant Wore Skirts
Starring Tom Ewell and Sheree North
Directed by Frank Tashlin
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope, DeLuxe Color and Stereophonic Sound
99 Minutes
"The Egg and Jerry" Starring Tom and Jerry / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
"Carioca Carnival" Narrated by Ed Stokes / Directed by Anthony Muto

Reported Gross "The Lieutenant Wore Skirts"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, January 19, 1956
35
 
2
Thursday, January 26, 1956
35
 
3
Thursday, February 2, 1956
35
 
4
Thursday, February 9, 1956
35
 
5
Wednesday, February 15, 1955
(6 Days)
30
 
Totals
34 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
170
 
Source: Variety
 
Hollywood Premiere, Thursday, February 16, 1956 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Friday, February 17, 1956 - Wednesday, April 11, 1956 (8 Weeks)
Carousel
Starring Gordon MacRae and Shirley Jones
Directed by Henry King
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope 55, DeLuxe Color and 6-Track Stereophonic Sound
128 Minutes
"Only at the Chinese Can You Hear it in the New 6-Track High Fidelity Stereophonic Sound"
"See a Preview of the New Hollywood! / New sidewalk with Star Portraits / New Hollywood Boulevard Landscaping / Newly Designed Lamp Post Searchlights!" (This might have been a display during the Premiere, or it could have been for the whole run —ED)
Stars attending the Premiere:
June Allison / Jean Pierre Aumont / Joan Bennett / Jeff Chandler / Joan Collins / Robert Cummings / Doris Day / Jeff Donnelly / Paul Douglas / Richard Egan / Mona Freeman / Zsa Zsa Gabor / Susan Hayward / Jeffrey Hunter / Peggy King / Vivien Leigh / Gene Lockhart / Guy Madison / Groucho Marx / James Mason / Cameron Mitchell / Robert Mitchum / Rita Moreno / Terry Moore / Jeff Morrow / Lori Nelson / Sheree North / Merle Oberon / Maureen O'Hara / Debra Paget / Marisa Pavan / Dick Powell / Aldo Ray / Michael Rennie / Barbara Ruick / Jan Sterling / Dorothy Towne / Robert Wagner / Clifton Webb / Esther Williams / Dana Wynters / Debbie Reynolds / Margaret O'Brien / June Haver / Fred MacMurray / Rosalind Russell / Natalie Wood / Jeanne Crain / Hugh O' Brien /

Lights! Glamour! Excitement! Cameras! Atmosphere! Bleachers!

Thursday, March 22, 1956 (at 20th Century-Fox Studio)
Yul Brynner (35) and Deborah Kerr (34) Imprint Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "Carousel"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, February 23, 1956 (8 Days)
29
 
2
Thursday, March 1, 1956
28
 
3
Thursday, March 8, 1956
28
 
4
Thursday, March 15, 1956
28
 
5
Thursday, March 22, 1956
28
 
6
Thursday, March 29, 1956
28
 
7
Thursday, April 5, 1956
28
 
8
Wednesday, April 11, 1956 (6 Days)
24
 
Totals
55 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
221
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Gala Hollywood Premiere, Thursday, April 12, 1956 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Friday, April 13, 1956 - Monday, May 28, 1956 (7 Weeks)
The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit
Starring Gregory Peck and Jennifer Jones
Directed by Nunnally Johnson
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope, DeLuxe Color and Stereophonic Sound
153 Minutes

Stars attending the Premiere:
June Allison / The Ames Brothers / Cary Cooper / Robert Cummings / Yvonne DeCarlo / Paul Douglas / John Ericson / Jo Van Fleet / Mona Freeman / Zsa Zsa Gabor / Paul Henreid / Tab Hunter / Peggy Knudsen / Joan Leslie / Gordon MacRea / Fredric March / Dewey Martin / Mr & Mrs James Mason and Portland Mason / Groucho Marx / Ray Milland / Cameron Mitchell / Robert Montgomery / Lori Nelson / Tommy Noonan / Arthur O'Connell / Maureen O'Hara / Gregory Peck / Gigi Perreau / Dick Powell / Barbara Rush / Rosalind Russell / Dinah Shore / Jan Sterling / Shirley Temple / Julie London / Bobby Troop / Susan Hayward / Clifton Webb / Jane Withers / Sal Mineo

Starrs! Lights! Glamour! Excitement! Bleachers!

Premiere Tickets: $5.00


Friday, May 18th, 1956:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 29th Birthday Today

Reported Gross "The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, April 19, 1956 (8 Days)
29
 
2
Thursday, April 26, 1956
28
 
3
Thursday, May 3, 1956
28
 
4
Thursday, May 10, 1956
28
 
5
Thursday, May 17, 1956
28
 
6
Thursday, May 24, 1956
28
 
7
Monday, May 28, 1956 (4 Days)
16
 
Totals
46 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
185
 
Source: Variety

 
Tuesday, May 29, 1956 - Wednesday, June 27, 1956 (4 Weeks)
D-Day the Sixth of June
Starring Robert Taylor and Richard Todd
Directed by Henry Koster
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope, DeLuxe Color
106 Minutes
"Chips Ahoy" Starring Donald Duck and Chip 'n' Dale / Directed by Jack Kinney / A Walt Disney Production in CinemaScope and Technicolor / A Beuna Vista Distribution Company Release
"A Thoroughbred is Born" Narrated by Mel Allen / Directed by Tom McMorrow and Jack Painter / A 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Sports Review in DeLuxe Color and Stereophonic Sound

Reported Gross "D-Day the Sixth of June"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Wednesday, June 6, 1956 (8 Days)
40
 
2
Wednesday, June 13, 1956
35
 
3
Wednesday, June 20, 1956
35
 
4
Wednesday, June 27, 1956
35
 
Totals
29 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
145
 
Source: Variety
 
World Premiere, Thursday, June 28, 1956 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Friday, June 29, 1956 - Tuesday, August 28, 1956 (9 Weeks)
The King and I
Starring Deborah Kerr and Yul Brynner
Directed by Walter Lang
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope 55, DeLuxe Color and Stereophonic Sound
133 Minutes
Doors Open 10:00 AM Daily

Stars attending the Premiere:
Desi Arnez / Lucille Ball / Ray Bolger / Claudette Colbert / Paul Douglas / Richard Egan / Rhonda Fleming / June Haver / Susan Hayward / Martha Hyer / Anita Louise / Fred MacMurray / Virginia Mayo / Rita Moreno / Michael O'Shea / Ronald Reagan / Michael Rennie / Jane Russell / Robert Stack / Jan Sterling / Elizabeth Taylor / Robert Taylor / Ursula Thiess / Michael Wilding / Dana Wynter / Jeanne Crain / Linda Darnell / Kathryn Grayson / Linda Darnell / Helen Hayes / Ann Miller / Hugh O'Brien / Jeff Morrow / Ernest Borgnine, Master of Ceremonies

Premiere Proceeds Go to the UCLA Medical Center Auxillary

Reported Gross "The King and I"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, July 3, 1956 (6 Days)
31
 
2
Tuesday, July 10, 1956
42
 
3
Tuesday, July 17, 1956
42
 
4
Tuesday, July 24, 1956
42
 
5
Tuesday, July 31, 1956
42
 
6
Tuesday, August 7, 1956
42
 
7
Tuesday, August 14, 1956
42
 
8
Tuesday, August 21, 1956
42
 
9
Tuesday, August 28, 1956
42
 
Totals
62 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
9 Weeks
Average Performance: $
367
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, August 29, 1956 - Thursday, September 27, 1956 (4 Weeks)
Bus Stop
Starring Marilyn Monroe and Don Murray
Directed by Joshua Logan
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
96 Minutes
"In the Bag" Starring Smokey the Bear / Directed by Jack Hannah / A Walt Disney Production in CinemaScope and Technicolor / A Beuna Vista Distribution Company Release
"Honeymoon Paradise" Produced by Edmund Reek / A 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Special in DeLuxe Color
Wednesday, September 26, 1956 @ 8:30 PM
George Stevens (51), Rock Hudson (30) and Elizabeth Taylor (24) Forecourt Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "Bus Stop"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, September 6, 1956 (8 Days)
40
 
2
Thursday, September 13, 1956
35
 
3
Thursday, September 20, 1956
35
 
4
Thursday, September 27, 1956
35
 
Totals
29 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
145
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Friday, September 28, 1956 - Tuesday, October 16, 1956 (3 Weeks)
The Best Things in Life Are Free
Starring Gordon MacRae and Dan Dailey
Directed by Michael Curtiz
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
113 Minutes
"Trailblazer Magoo" with the voice of Jim Backus / Directed by Pete Burness / A UPA Production in CinemaScope and Tecnicolor / A Columbia Pictures Release
"Pigskin Peewees" Directed by Tom McMorrow / A 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Sports Review in DeLuxe Color

Reported Gross "The Best Things in Life Are Free"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Wednesday, October 3, 1956 (6 Days)
30
 
2
Wednesday, October 10, 1956
35
 
3
Tuesday, October 16, 1956
(6 Days)
30
 
Totals
19 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
95
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Hollywood Invitational Premiere, Wednesday, October 17, 1956 @ 8:30 PM
Regular Engagement: Thursday, October 18 - Monday, December 24, 1956 (10 Weeks)
Giant
Starring Elizabeth Taylor and Rock Hudson
Directed by George Stevens
A Giant Production / Released by Warner Bros. Pictures / In WarnerColor
201 Minutes
Sunday - Thursday at: 10:30 AM, 1:55, 5:30 and 9:20 PM
Friday and Saturday at: 11:15 AM, 2:35, 6:15 and 10:10 PM
"Red Carpeted Promainade of Stars on a Boulevard Painted with Light and Color"

Stars attending the Premiere:
Nick Adams / Anna Maria Alberghetti / Ben Alenxander / June Allison / Dana Andrews / Roxanne Arlen / Desi Arnez / Jim Backus / Lucille Ball / Anne Bancroft / Eva Bartok / Ann Baxter / Dr. Frank Baxter / William Bendix / Fran Bernett / Edgar Bergen / Jacques Bergerac / Julie Bishop / Julie Blair / Amanda Blake / Ann Blyth / Ernest Borgnine / Scott Brady / Walter Brennan / Billie Burke / William Campbell / John Carroll / Peggie Castle / Joan Caulfield / Jeff Chandler / Etchika Choureau / Charles Coburn / Ben Cooper / Lou Costello / Jeanne Crain / Dani Crayne / Donald Crisp / Robert Cummings / Laraine Day / Yvonne De Carlo / William Demarest / Brian Donlevy / Jeff Donnell / Ann Doran / Diana Dorsi / Irene dunne / Leo Durocher / Marilyn Erskine / Charles Farrell / Paul Fix / Henry Fonda / Glenn Ford / Eddie Foy, Jr. / Eduarad Franz / Clark Gable / Eva Gabor / Reginald Gardiner / James Garner / James Gleason / Kathryn Grayson / Virginia Grey / Alan Hale / Monte Hale / Jon Hall / Peggy Hallack / Ruth Hampton / June Haver / Margaret Hayes / Van Heflin / Charlton Heston / Wendy Hiller / Dennis Hopper / Bob Hoover / John Howard / Rock Hudson / Tab Hunter / Will Hutchins / Martha Hyer / Anne Jeffries / George Jessel / Les Johnson / L.Q. Jones / Shirley Jones / Danny Kaye / Howard Keel / Peggy King / Jack La Rue / Barbara Lawrence / Peggy Lee / Jerry Lewis / Jane Liddell / Perry Lopez / Frank Lovejoy / Dianna Lynn / Mercedes McCambridge / Patty McCormick / Marie McDonald / Jimmy McHugh / Jeanette MacDonald / Fred MacMurray / Gordon MacRae / Karl Malden / Dorothy Malone / Dean Martin / Dewey Martin / Lee Marvin / Groucho Marx / Ilona Massey / Marilyn Maxwell / Virginia Mayo / Lauritz Melchior / Vera Miles / Ann Miller / Ricardo Montalban / Patricia Morrison / George Murphy / George Nader / Lori Nelson / Robert Nichols / Tommy Noonan / Sheree North / Margaret O'Brien / Michael O'Shea / Jack Palance / Byron Palmer / Fess Parker / Nigel Patrick / Luane Patton / Anthony Perkins / Dick Powell / Eleanor Powell / Vera Ralston / Gene Raymond / Paula Raymond / Donna Reed / Tex Ritter / Gale Robbins / Cliff Robertson / Ann Robinson / Ginger Rogers / Ceasar Romero / Barbara Rush / William Schallert / Gordon Scott / Jacques Sernas / Karen Shapiro / Ann Sheridan / Rod Steiger / Marl Stevens / Russ Tamblyn / Claire Trevor / Joan Vohs / Robert Wagner / Gregory Walcott / Clint Walker / Charles Watts / Barbara Whiting / Margaret Whiting / James Whitmore / Cornell Wilde / Chill Wills / Shelly Winters

Art Linkletter, Master of Ceremonies, assisted by: Gordon MacRae / Tom Frandsen / Chill Wills and Star Hostesses Peggie Castle / Jeff Donnell / Lori Nelson


From Friday, October 26, 1956:

Continuous Performances All Day:

Sunday - Thursday:
Doors Open at 10:00 AM. First Show at 10:30 AM. Last Show at 9:20 PM

Friday:
Doors Open at 10:45 AM. First Show at 11:15 AM. Last Show at 10:00 PM

Saturday:
Doors Open at 9:00 AM. First Show at 9:30 AM. Last Show at Midnight

Reported Gross "Giant"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Wednesday, October 24, 1956
(8 Days)
28
 
2
Wednesday, October 31, 1956
29
 
3
Wednesday, November 7, 1956
29
 
4
Wednesday, November 14, 1956
29
 
5
Wednesday, November 21, 1956
29
 
6
Wednesday, November 28, 1956
29
 
7
Wednesday, December 5, 1956
29
 
8
Wednesday, December 12, 1956
29
 
9
Wednesday, December 19, 1956
29
 
10
Monday, December 24, 1956
(5 Days)
21
 
Totals
69 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
281
 
Source: Variety

 
Tuesday, December 25, 1956 - Tuesday, February 19, 1957 (8 Weeks)
Anastasia
Starring Ingrid Bergman and Yul Brynner
Directed by Anatole Litvak
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in CinemaScope and DeLuxe Color
105 Minutes
"Barbeque Brawl" Starring Tom and Jerry / Directed by Joseph Barbera and William Hanna / A Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Cartoon in CinemaScope and Technicolor
"Spirit of the Race" Produced by Edmund Reek / A 20th Century-Fox CinemaScope Special in DeLuxe Color
 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.