Wednesday, August 3, 1977 - Tuesday, June 27, 1978 (47 Weeks-51 Weeks Total)
Star Wars
Starring Mark Hamill and Harrison Ford
Directed by George Lucas
A Lucasfilm Ltd. Production in Panavision, Technicolor, print by DeLuxe Color
A 20th Century-Fox Release
Presented in 70mm, Dolby System Stereophonic Sound
121 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 10:30 AM, 12:45, 3:05, 5:30, 8:00, 10:25 PM and 12:30 AM
Showings from Tuesday, August 30, 1977:
Daily at: 12:45, 3:05, 5:30, 8:00, 10:25 PM

I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
These theatres began playing "Star Wars" beginning
Wednesday, May 25, 1977:

Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
thru Tuesday, November 15 (25 Weeks)
--
Plitt City Center Theatres #1, Orange
thru Tuesday, December 13, 1977 (29 Weeks)

Added Wednesday, June 1, 1977
Winnetka Drive-In, Chatsworth
thru Tuesday, November 1, 1977 (22 Weeks)

These theatres began playing "Star Wars" beginning
Wednesday, July 6, 1977:

Plitt Century Plaza Theatre, Century City
thru Wednesday, April 12, 1978 (40 Weeks) and from Monday, May 8, 1978 - ??? (Engagement continued beyond Chinese playdates)
--
UA Cerritos Twin Cinemas, Cerritos
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (25 Weeks)
--
UA Cinema, Costa Mesa
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (25 Weeks)
--
El Monte Drive-In Theatre, El Monte
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (24 Weeks)
--
Fountain Valley Drive-In Theatre, Fountain Valley
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (24 Weeks)
--
Vermont Drive-In Theatre, Gardenia
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (24 Weeks)
--
Edwards Newport Cinema, Newport Beach
(Engagement continued beyond Chinese playdates)
--
Academy Theatre, Pasadena
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (24 Weeks)
--
South Bay Cinemas, Redondo Beach
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (25 Weeks)
--
UA Cinema, Riverside
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (25 Weeks)
--
Arlington Theatre, Santa Barbara
thru Thursday, October 13, 1977 (14 Weeks)
--
Sherman Oaks Cinema, Sherman Oaks
thru Tuesday, December 13, 1977 (23 Weeks)
--
Westcove Cinema, West Covina
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (25 Weeks)

Added Friday, July 22, 1977
Camelot Theatre, Palm Springs
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (22 Weeks)

Added Wednesday, August 17, 1977
Fashion Square Theatres, La Habra
thru Tuesday, December 27, 1977 (19 Weeks)
--
Montclare Theatre, Motntclare
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (18 Weeks)
--
Central City Theatre, San Bernardino
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (18 Weeks)
--
Topanga Theatres, Woodland Hills
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (18 Weeks)

Added Friday, October 14, 1977
Granada Theatre, Santa Barbara
thru Tuesday, December 20, 1977 (10 Weeks)
To download a "Star Wars" Day-and-Date Timeline as a PDF, click here.
To see the Timeline as a graphic, click here.
Thuesday, May 18, 1978:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 51st Birthday Today

Reported Average Gross "Star Wars"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Screens
Av. Gross
22 / 26
Thursday, January 5, 1978
0
 
 
23 / 27
Thursday, January 12, 1978
0
 
 
24 / 28
Thursday, January 19, 1978
0
 
 
25 / 29
Thursday, January 26, 1978
0
 
 
26 / 30
Thursday, February 2, 1978
0
 
 
27 / 31
Thursday, February 9, 1978
0
 
 
28 / 32
Thursday, February 16, 1978
0
 
 
29 / 33
Thursday, February 23, 1978
0
 
 
30 / 34
Thursday, March 2, 1978
0
 
 
31 / 35
Thursday, March 9, 1978
0
 
 
32 / 36
Thursday, March 16, 1978
0
 
 
33 / 37
Thursday, March 23, 1978
0
 
 
34 / 38
Thursday, March 30, 1978
0
 
 
35 / 39
Thursday, April 6, 1978
0
 
 
36 / 40
Thursday, April 13, 1978
0
 
 
37 / 41
Thursday, April 20, 1978
0
 
 
38 / 42
Thursday, April 27, 1978
0
 
 
39 / 43
Thursday, May 4, 1978
0
 
 
40 / 44
Thursday, May 11, 1978
0
 
 
41 / 45
Thursday, May 18, 1978
0
 
 
42 / 46
Thursday, May 25, 1978
0
 
 
43 / 47
Thursday, June 1, 1978
0
 
 
44 / 48
Thursday, June 8, 1978
0
 
 
45 / 49
Thursday, June 15, 1978
0
 
 
46 / 50
Thursday, June 22, 1978
0
 
 
47 / 51
Tuesday, June 27, 1978
(5 Days)
0
 
 
Totals for 1978
180 Days
Daily Average: $0
--
--
26 Weeks
Average Performance: $0
359
 
Totals for entire "Star Wars" engagement
357 Days
Daily Average: $0
--
--
51 Weeks
Average Performance: $0
1,318
 
Source: Box Office Mojo
 
Wednesday, June 28, 1978 - Wednesday, October 4, 1978 (14 Weeks)
Heaven Can Wait
Starring Warren Beatty and Julie Christie
Directed by Warren Beatty and Buck Henry
A Paramount Picture
101 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30, 8:30 and 10:30 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Opens Nationwide on 549 Screens, Including:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Old Towne Cinemas, Torrance
Mann Pasadena Theatres, Pasadena
UA Movies, Brea
UA Movies, North Hollywood
UA Cinema, Riverside
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Conejo Theatre, Thousand Oaks
Fox Ventura Theatre, Ventura
Centinela Drive-In Theatre, Los Angeles
Winnetka Drive-In, Chatsworth
Fiesta Drive-In Theatre, Pico Rivera
Edwards Drive-In Theatre, Arcadia
San Pedro Drive-In Theatre, San Pedro
Long Beach Drive-In Theatre, Long Beach
101 Drive-In Theatre, Ventura
Cinedome 21 Theatres, Orange
Plaza Theatre, Palm Springs
Riviera Theatre, Santa Barbara
Stadium Drive-In Theatre, Orange
Lancaster Drive-In Theatre, Lancaster

Reported Average Gross "Heaven Can Wait"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Screens
Av. Gross
1
Thursday, July 6, 1978
(9 Days)
56
 
 
2
Thursday, July 13, 1978
44
 
 
3
Thursday, July 20, 1978
44
 
 
4
Thursday, July 27, 1978
44
 
 
5
Thursday, August 3, 1978
44
 
 
6
Thursday, August 10, 1978
44
 
 
7
Thursday, August 17, 1978
44
 
 
8
Thursday, August 24, 1978
44
 
 
9
Thursday, August 31, 1978
44
 
 
10
Thursday, September 7, 1978
44
 
 
11
Thursday, September 14, 1978
44
 
 
12
Thursday, September 21, 1978
44
 
 
13
Thursday, September 28, 1978
44
 
 
14
Wednesday, October 4, 1978
(6 Days)
38
 
 
Totals for 1978
66 Days
Daily Average: $0
--
--
14 Weeks
Average Performance: $0
622
 
Source: Box Office Mojo
 
Thursday, October 5, 1978 - Tuesday, November 7, 1978 (5 Weeks)
The Boys from Brazil
Starring Gregory Peck and Laurence Olivier
Directed by Franklin J. Schaffner
A 20th Century-Fox Release
125 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:30, 3:00, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:30 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:45 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Day and Date:
Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
--
Sepulveda Drive-In Theatre, Van Nuys
Cinedome 23 Theatres, Orange
Edwards Newport Cinema, Newport Beach

Reported Average Gross "The Boys from Brazil"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Screens
Av. Gross
1
Thursday, October 12, 1978
(8 Days)
42
 
 
2
Thursday, October 19, 1978
37
 
 
3
Thursday, October 26, 1978
37
 
 
4
Thursday, November 2, 1978
37
 
 
5
Tuesday, November 7, 1978
(5 Days)
27
 
 
Totals for 1978
34 Days
Daily Average: $0
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $0
180
 
Source: Box Office Mojo
 
 
Wednesday, November 8, 1978 - Wednesday, December 13, 1978 (5 Weeks)
Magic
Starring Anthony Hopkins and Ann Margaret
Directed by Richard Attenborough
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in Technicolor, print by DeLuxe
107 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at 1:00, 3:15, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:15 PM

Day and Date:
Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
--
Edwards Drive-In Theatre, Arcadia
Foothill Drive-In Theatre, Azusa
Brea Plaza, Brea
Fallbrook Theatre, Canoga Park
Alondra 6, Cerritos
Winnetka Drive-In, Chatsworth
Studio Drive-In Theatre, Culver City
Vermont Drive-In Theatre, Gardenia
Los Altos Drive-In Theatre, Long Beach
UA Movies, Long Beach
UA Cinema 4, Marina Del Rey
UA Movies, North Hollywood
Mann Theatre, Pasadena
Puente Hills Theatre, Puente Hills
UA Movies, Thousand Oaks
UA Del Amo 6, Torrance
UA Twin Cinemas, Westminster
Bristol Cinema, Costa Mesa
Cinedome 21 Theatres, Orange
Stadium Drive-In Theatre, Orange
Camelot Theatre, Palm Springs
Paramount Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
Sands Theatre, Glendale

Reported Average Gross "Magic"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Screens
Av. Gross
1
Thursday, November 16, 1978
(9 Days)
45
 
 
2
Thursday, November 23, 1978
35
 
 
3
Thursday, November 30, 1978
35
 
 
4
Thursday, December 7, 1978
35
 
 
5
Wednesday, December 13, 1978
(6 Days)
30
 
 
Totals for 1978
36 Days
Daily Average: $0
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $0
180
 
Source: Box Office Mojo
 
 
U.S. Premiere, Thursday, December 14, 1978
Regular Engagement: Friday, December 15, 1978 - Wednesday, April 11, 1979 (17 Weeks)
Superman the Movie
Starring Marlon Brando and Gene Hackman
Directed by Richard Donner
An Alexander and Ilya Salkind Production in Panavision and Technicolor
A Warner Bros. Pictures Release
Presented in 70mm and Dolby System Stereophonic Sound
143 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at 8:30 and 11:15 AM, 2:05, 4:50, 7:40 and 10:20 PM
Late Show Friday, Saturday and Sunday, December 17, 1978 at 12: 45 AM
Showtimes from Monday, December 18, 1978:
Daily at: 11:15 AM, 2:05, 4:50, 7:40, 10:20 PM and 12:45 AM
Late Show Sunday, December 31, 1978 at 12:45 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED

Opens Nationwide on 508 Screens, Including:
National Theatre, Westwood
UA Cerritos Twin Cinemas, Cerritos
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Fox Covina Theatre, Covina
Capitol Theatre, Glendale
Fashion Square Theatres, La Habra
UA Cinema 4, Marina Del Rey
Montclare Theatre, Motntclare
Academy Theatre, Pasadena
South Bay Cinemas, Redondo Beach
Studio Theatre, Studio City
Cinema West, Westminster
UA Warner Center, Woodland Hills
Fox Ventura Theatre, Ventura
Camelot Theatre, Palm Springs
Granada Theatre, Santa Barbara


 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.