Thursday, December 25, 1975 - Tuesday, February 10, 1976 (7 Weeks)
The Hindenburg
Starring George C. Scott and Anne Bancroft
Directed by Robert Wise
A Universal Picture in Technicolor and Panavision
Presented in 4-Track Stereophonic Sound
125 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:45, 3:05, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:20 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Day and Date:
Bruin Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Titan Theatre, Fullerton
Buena Park Drive-In Theatre, Buena Park

Reported Gross "The Hindenburg"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, December 30, 1975
(6 Days)
31
 
2
Tuesday, January 6, 1976
37
 
3
Tuesday, January 13, 1976
37
 
4
Tuesday, January 20, 1976
37
 
5
Tuesday, January 27, 1976
37
 
6
Tuesday, February 3, 1976
37
 
7
Tuesday, February 10, 1976
37
 
Totals
48 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
253
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, February 11, 1976 - Thursday, April 8, 1976 (8 Weeks)
Gable and Lombard
Starring James Brolin and Jill Clayburgh
Directed by Sidney J. Furie
A Universal Picture in Technicolor
131 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:30, 3:00, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:30 PM
Wednesday, February 11, 1976 at 11:00 AM:

Attend Re-dedication Ceremony for Clark Gable's Footprints - See Edith Head and her Carole Lombard Costumes in the Forecourt
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED

Day and Date:
Bruin Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Highway 39 Drive-In Theatre, Westminster
Plitt City Center Theatres #1, Orange

Reported Gross "Gable and Lombard"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, February 19, 1976 (9 Days)
45
 
2
Thursday, February 26, 1976
35
 
3
Thursday, March 4, 1976
35
 
4
Thursday, March 11, 1976
35
 
5
Thursday, March 18, 1976
35
 
6
Thursday, March 25, 1976
35
 
7
Thursday, April 1, 1976
35
 
8
Tuesday, April 6, 1976
(5 Days)
25
 
Totals
56 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
285
 
Source: Variety

Edith Head and Sidney J. Furie.
 
Wednesday, April 7, 1976 - Tuesday, June 22, 1976 (11 Weeks)
The Bad News Bears
Starring Walter Matthau and Tatum O'Neal
Directed by Michael Ritchie
A Paramount Picture in Color
102 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30, 8:30 and 10:30 PM
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Starlite Drive-In Theatre
, El Monte
Cinedome 23 Theatres, Orange
Fountain Valley Drive-In Theatre, Fountain Valley
Edwards Newport Cinema, Newport Beach
Tuesday, May 18, 1976:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 49th Birthday Today

Reported Gross "The Bad News Bears"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, April 13, 1976 (5 Days)
30
 
2
Tuesday, April 20, 1976
42
 
3
Tuesday, April 27, 1976
42
 
4
Tuesday, May 4, 1976
42
 
5
Tuesday, May 11, 1976
42
 
6
Tuesday, May 18, 1976
42
 
7
Tuesday, May 25, 1976
42
 
8
Tuesday, June 1, 1976
42
 
9
Tuesday, June 8, 1976
42
 
10
Tuesday, June 15, 1976
42
 
11
Tuesday, June 22, 1976
42
 
Totals
75 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
11 Weeks
Average Performance: $
450
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, June 23, 1976 - Tuesday, July 13, 1976 (3 Weeks)
The Big Bus
Starring Joseph Bologna and Stockard Channing
Directed by James Frawley
A Paramount Picture in Panavision and Color
88 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at 12:45, 2:35, 4:25, 6:15, 8:10 and 10:15 PM
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
Cinemaland Theatre, Anaheim
Harbor Twin Theatres, Costa Mesa
Harbor Blvd. Drive-In Theatre, Santa Ana

Reported Gross "The Big Bus"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, June 29, 1976
42
 
2
Tuesday, July 6, 1976
42
 
3
Tuesday, July 13, 1976
42
 
Totals
21 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
126
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, July 14, 1976 - Tuesday, August 3, 1976 (3 Weeks)
Leadbelly
Starring Roger E. Mosley and Paul Benjamin
Directed by Gordon Parks
A Paramount Picture in Color
126 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at 12:30, 3:00, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:30 PM
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Twin View Drive-In Theatre, Los Angeles
Bristol Cinema, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "Leadbelly"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, July 20, 1976
35
 
2
Tuesday, July 27, 1976
35
 
3
Tuesday, August 3, 1976
35
 
Totals
21 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
105
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, August 4, 1976 - Thursday, September 2, 1976 (4 Weeks)
Drum
Starring Warren Oates and Isela Vega
Directed by Steve Carver
A Dino de Laurentiis Production in Technicolor
A United Artists Release
110 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:30, 2:25, 4:20, 6:15, 8:10 and 10:05 PM
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Vermont Drive-In Theatre, Gardenia
Edwards Cinema Center, Costa Mesa
Cinemaland Theatre, Anaheim
Anaheim Drive-In Theatre, Anaheim

Reported Gross "Drum"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, August 12, 1976 (9 Days)
54
 
2
Thursday, August 19, 1976
42
 
3
Thursday, August 26, 1976
42
 
4
Thursday, September 2, 1976
42
 
Totals
30 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
4 Weeks
Average Performance: $
178
 
Source: Variety
 
 
World Premiere Engagement
Friday, Setember 3, 1976 - Thursday, October 7, 1976 (5 Weeks)
Car Wash
Starring Franklyn Ajaye and George Carlin
Directed by Michael Schultz
A Universal Picture in Technicolor
97 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30, 8:30 and 10:30 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
Friday, September 3, 1976
"Free Car Wash to the First 100 Patrons at All Theatres"
Day and Date:
Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
--
Vermont Drive-In Theatre, Gardenia

Reported Gross "Car Wash"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, September 9, 1976
44
 
2
Thursday, September 16, 1976
44
 
3
Thursday, September 23, 1976
44
 
4
Thursday, September 30, 1976
44
 
5
Thursday, October 7, 1976
44
 
Totals
35 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
308
 
Source: Variety
 
Friday, October 8, 1976 - Saturday, December 18, 1976 (11 Weeks)
Marathon Man
Starring Dustin Hoffman and Laurence Olivier
Directed by John Schlesinger
A Paramount Picture in Color
125 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:45, 3:00, 5:20, 8:00 and 10:15 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Day and Date:
Village Theatre, Westwood
--
La Mirada Drive-In Theatre, La Mirada
Cinemaland 2 & 3 Theatres, Anaheim
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Stadium Drive-In Theatre, Orange

Reported Gross "Marathon Man"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, October 14, 1976
37
 
2
Thursday, October 21, 1976
37
 
3
Thursday, October 28, 1976
37
 
4
Thursday, November 4, 1976
37
 
5
Thursday, November 11, 1976
37
 
6
Thursday, November 18, 1976
37
 
7
Thursday, November 25, 1976
37
 
8
Thursday, December 2, 1976
37
 
9
Thursday, December 9, 1976
37
 
10
Thursday, December 16, 1976
37
 
11
Saturday, December 18, 1976
(2 Days)
12
 
Totals
72 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
11 Weeks
Average Performance: $
382
 
Source: Variety
 
 
World Premiere Engagement
Sunday, December 19, 1976 - Thursday, February 24, 1977 (10 Weeks)
A Star is Born
Starring Barbra Streisand and Kris Kristofferson
Directed by Frank Pierson
A First Artists Presentation
A Warner Bros. Release
Presented in 70mm, Dolby System Stereophonic Sound
139 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:30, 3:00, 5:30, 8:00 and 10:30 PM

Day and Date:
Village Theatre, Westwood
--
Van Nuys Drive-In Theatre, Van Nuys

Added Saturday, December 25, 1976
Edwards Cinema, Costa Mesa
Century 21 Theatre, Anaheim

 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.