Thursday, December 21, 1972 - Tuesday, March 6, 1973 (11 Weeks)
Up the Sandbox
Starring Barbra Streisand and David Selby
Directed by Irvin Kershner
A First Artists Presentation in Technicolor
A National General Pictures Release
97 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:15, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, 8:15 and 10:15 PM
Day and Date:
Cinemaland Theatre, Anaheim
Fountain Valley Drive-In Theatre, Fountain Valley
Edwards Cinema, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "Up the Sandbox"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, December 26, 1972 (6 Days)
36
 
2
Tuesday, January 2, 1973
42
 
3
Tuesday, January 9, 1973
42
 
4
Tuesday, January 16, 1973
42
 
5
Tuesday, January 23, 1973
42
 
6
Tuesday, January 30, 1973
42
 
7
Tuesday, February 6, 1973
42
 
8
Tuesday, February 13, 1973
42
 
9
Tuesday, February 20, 1973
42
 
10
Tuesday, February 27, 1973
42
 
11
Tuesday, March 6, 1973
42
 
Totals
76 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
11 Weeks
Average Performance: $
456
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, March 7, 1973 - Tuesday, March 27, 1973 (3 Weeks)
The Long Goodbye
Starring Elliott Gould and Nina van Pillandt
Directed by Robert Altman
A United Artists Release in Technicolor and Panavision
112 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 12:45, 3:15, 5:35, 8:00 and 10:20 PM
Day and Date:
Village Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount

Reported Gross "The Long Goodbye"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, March 13, 1973 (6 Days)
36
 
2
Tuesday, March 20, 1973
42
 
3
Tuesday, March 27, 1973
42
 
Totals
20 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
120
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, March 28, 1973 - Tuesday, April 10, 1973 (2 Weeks)
Cabaret
Starring Liza Minnelli and Michael York
Directed by Bob Fosse
A Allied Artists Release in Technicolor
124 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 1:00, 3:20, 5:40, 8:00 and 10:20 PM
Day and Date:
Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
--
Alex Theatre, Glendale
Culver Theatre, Culver City
Fox Inglewood Theatre, Ingelwood
Capri Theatre, Van Nuys
Guild Theatre, North Hollywood
Fox Northridge Theatre, Northridge
Holiday Theatre, Canoga Park
Capri Theatre, West Covina
Studio Theatre, San Bernadino
UA Los Cerritos Mall Cinema 4, Cerritos
UA City Center, Orange
La Mirada Drive-In Theatre, La Mirada
Rolling Hills Theatre, Torrance
Harbor Twin Theatres, Costa Mesa
El Rey Theatre, Alhambra
Edwards Cinema West, Westminster
Aero Theatre, Santa Monica

Reported Gross "Cabaret"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, April 3, 1973
35
 
2
Tuesday, April 10, 1973
35
 
Totals
14 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
2 Weeks
Average Performance: $
70
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, April 11, 1973 - Tuesday, May 22, 1973 (6 Weeks)
Class of '44
Starring Gary Grimes and Jerry Houser
Directed by Paul Bogart
A Warner Bros. Picture in Panavision and Technicolor
95 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:15, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, 8:15 and 10:15 PM
Friday, May 18, 1973:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 46th Birthday Today
Day and Date:
Avco Cinema Center, Westwood
--
Starlite Drive-In Theatre, El Monte
Harbor Blvd. Drive-In Theatre, Santa Ana
Harbor Twin Theatres, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "Class of '42"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, April 17, 1973
42
 
2
Tuesday, April 24, 1973
42
 
3
Tuesday, May 1, 1973
42
 
4
Tuesday, May 8, 1973
42
 
5
Tuesday, May 15, 1973
42
 
6
Tuesday, May 22, 1973
42
 
Totals
36 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
6 Weeks
Average Performance: $
252
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, May 23, 1973 - Tuesday, June 26, 1973 (5 Weeks)
A Warm December
Starring Sidney Poitier and Ester Anderson
Directed by Sidney Poitier
A First Artists Production in Technicolor
A National General Pictures Release
99 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:15, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, 8:15 and 10:15 PM;
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:15 AM
Friday, June 1, 1973:

Mann Theatres Assumes Operation of the Chinese Theatre
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Century Drive-In Theatre #2, Ingelwood
Edwards Cinema, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "A Warm December"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, May 29, 1973
44
 
2
Tuesday, June 5, 1973
44
 
3
Tuesday, June 12, 1973
44
 
4
Tuesday, June 19, 1973
44
 
5
Tuesday, June 26, 1973
44
 
Totals
35 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
220
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, June 27, 1973 - Tuesday, July 31, 1973 (5 Weeks)
Live and Let Die
Starring Roger Moore and Yaphet Kotto
Directed by Guy Hamilton
A United Artists Release in Color
121 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 11:30 AM, 1:40, 3:50, 6:00, 8:10 and 10:20 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Day and Date:
Picwood Theatre, West Los Angeles
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
Highway 39 Drive-In Theatre, Westminster
Los Altos Drive-In Theatre, Long Beach
South Coast Plaza Theatres, Costa Mesa
Crest Theatre, North Long Beach


Sunday, July 1, 1973:

The Chinese Theatre is now part of Mann Theatres

Reported Gross "Live and Let Die"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, July 3, 1973
44
 
2
Tuesday, July 10, 1973
44
 
3
Tuesday, July 17, 1973
44
 
4
Tuesday, July 24, 1973
44
 
5
Tuesday, July 31, 1973
44
 
Totals
35 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
5 Weeks
Average Performance: $
220
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, August 1, 1973 - Thursday, August 23, 1973 (3 Weeks)
The Mackintosh Man
Starring Paul Newman and Dominique Sanda
Directed by John Huston
A Newman/Foreman Production in Technicolor
98 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 11:30 AM, 1:40, 3:50, 6:00, 8:10 and 10:20 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:30 AM
I attended a performance during this engagement - ED
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
Stadium 4 Drive-In Theatre, Orange
South Coast Plaza Theatre #1, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "The Mackintosh Man"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, August 9, 1973 (9 Days)
56
 
2
Thursday, August 16, 1973
44
 
3
Thursday, August 23, 1973
44
 
Totals
23 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
144
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Friday, August 24, 1973 - Tuesday, October 16, 1973 (8 Weeks)
Enter the Dragon
Starring Bruce Lee and John Saxon
Directed by Robert Clouse
A Warner Bros. Pictures Release in Panavision and Technicolor
98 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 10:00 AM, 12:00, 2:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 10:00 and 12:00 Midnight Show Nightly
Showtimes from Tuesday, September 4, 1973:
12:00, 2:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00, 10:00 and 12:00 Midnight Show Nightly
Showtimes from Wednesday, September 19, 1973:
12:00, 2:00, 4:00, 6:00, 8:00 and 10:00 PM
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:00 AM
Day and Date:
Orange Drive-In Theatre, Orange
Edwards Newport Cinema, Newport Beach

Reported Gross "Enter the Dragon"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, August 28, 1973 (5 Days)
40
 
2
Tuesday, September 4, 1973
55
 
3
Tuesday, September 11, 1973
49
 
4
Tuesday, September 18, 1973
49
 
5
Tuesday, September 25, 1973
44
 
6
Tuesday, October 2, 1973
44
 
7
Tuesday, October 9, 1973
44
 
8
Tuesday, October 16, 1973
44
 
Totals
54 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
369
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, October 17, 1973 - Tuesday, November 6, 1973 (3 Weeks)
Massacre in Rome
Starring Richard Burton and Marcello Mastruianni
Directed by George Pan Cosmontos
A National General Pictures Release in Technicolor
110 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:15, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, 8:15 and 10:15 PM;
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:15 AM

Reported Gross "Massacre in Rome"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, October 23, 1973
44
 
2
Tuesday, October 30, 1973
44
 
3
Tuesday, November 6, 1973
44
 
Totals
21 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
3 Weeks
Average Performance: $
132
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, November 7, 1973 - Monday, December 24, 1973 (7 Weeks)
Executive Action
Starring Burt Lancaster and Robert Ryan
Directed by David Miller
An Edward Lewis Production in Color
A National General Pictures Release
91 Minutes / Rated PG
Daily at: 12:15, 2:15, 4:15, 6:15, 8:15 and 10:15 PM;
Late Show Friday and Saturday at 12:15 AM
Day and Date:
National Theatre, Westwood
--
Starlite Drive-In Theatre, El Monte
Harbor Twin Theatre #1, Costa Mesa

Reported Gross "Executive Action"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Monday, November 12,1973 (6 Days)
38
 
2
Monday, November 19,1973
44
 
3
Monday, November 26,1973
44
 
4
Monday, December 3,1973
44
 
5
Monday, December 10,1973
44
 
6
Monday, December 17,1973
44
 
7
Monday, December 24,1973
44
 
Totals
48 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
7 Weeks
Average Performance: $
300
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Tuesday, December 25, 1973 - Tuesday, February 5, 1974 (6 Weeks)
Magnum Force
Starring Clint Eastwood and Hal Holbrook
Directed by Ted Post
A Warner Bros. Release in Panavision and Technicolor
124 Minutes / Rated R
Daily at: 11:00 AM, 1:15, 3:25, 5:40, 8:00 and 10:15 PM
Late Shows Friday, December 28, 1973 - Monday, December 31, 1973
Day and Date:
Crest Theatre, Westwood
--
Rosecrans Drive-In Theatre, Paramount
Cinemaland Theatre, Anaheim
Fountain Valley Drive-In Theatre, Fountain Valley
 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.