Gala Hollywood Premiere, Tuesday, December 20, 1966 @ 8:00 PM
Regular Engagement: Wednesday, December 21, 1966 - Thursday, February 9, 1967 (7 Weeks)
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
Starring Zero Mostel and Phil Silvers
Directed by Richard Lester
A Melvin Frank Production in DeLuxe Color
A United Artists Release
99 Minutes / Suggested for Mature Audiences
"Smile Pretty, Say Pink" Starring The Pink Panther / Directed by Hawley Pratt / A DePatie-Freleng Enterprises Production in Color / A United Artists Release
Daily at 12:30, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30, 8:30 and 10:30 PM

Reported Gross "A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Thursday, December 29, 1966
(10 Days)
55
 
2
Thursday, January 5, 1967
42
 
3
Thursday, January 12, 1967
42
 
4
Thursday, January 19, 1967
42
 
5
Thursday, January 26, 1967
42
 
6
Thursday, February 2, 1967
42
 
7
Thursday, February 9, 1967
42
 
Totals
52 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
12 Weeks
Average Performance: $
307
 
Source: Variety
 
 
World Premiere Engagement
Friday, February 10, 1967 - Tuesday, March 21, 1967 (6 Weeks)
Hurry Sundown
Starring Michael Caine and Jane Fonda
Directed by Otto Preminger
An Otto Preminger Production in Panavision and Technicolor
A Paramount Release
146 Minutes / Sugested for Mature Audiences
Daily at: 11:45 AM, 2:25, 5:05, 7:45 and 10:25 PM
 
Tuesday, March 21, 1967
Steve McQueen (36) Forecourt Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "Hurry Sundown"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, February 14, 1967 (5 Days)
25
 
2
Tuesday, February 21, 1967
35
 
3
Tuesday, February 28, 1967
35
 
4
Tuesday, March 7, 1967
35
 
5
Tuesday, March 14, 1967
35
 
6
Tuesday, March 21, 1967
35
 
Totals
40 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
6 Weeks
Average Performance: $
200
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, March 22, 1967 - Tuesday, June 13, 1967 (12 Weeks)
How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying
Starring Robert Morse and Michele Lee
Directed by David Swift
A United Artists Release in Panavision and DeLuxe Color
121 Minutes
"Pink-A-Boo" Starring The Pink Panther / Directed by Hawley Pratt / A DePatie-Freleng Enterprises Production in Color / A United Artists Release
Daily at: 12:45, 3:10, 5:35, 8:00 and 10:25 PM
Thursday, May 18, 1967:

Grauman's Chinese Theatre 40th Birthday Today

Reported Gross "How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, March 28, 1967
35
 
2
Tuesday, April 4, 1967
35
 
3
Tuesday, April 11, 1967
35
 
4
Tuesday, April 18, 1967
35
 
5
Tuesday, April 25, 1967
35
 
6
Tuesday, May 2, 1967
35
 
7
Tuesday, May 9, 1967
35
 
8
Tuesday, May 16, 1967
35
 
9
Tuesday, May 23, 1967
35
 
10
Tuesday, May 30, 1967
35
 
11
Tuesday, June 6, 1967
35
 
12
Tuesday, June 13, 1967
35
 
Totals
84 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
12 Weeks
Average Performance: $
420
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, June 14, 1967 - Tuesday, August 22, 1967 (10 Weeks)
You Only Live Twice
Starring Sean Connery and Akiko Wakabayashi
Directed by Lewis Gilbert
A United Artists Release in Panavision and Technicolor
117 Minutes
Sunday - Thursday at: 11:45 AM, 1:30, 3:45, 6:05, 8:20 and 10:40 PM
Friday & Saturday at: 10:25, 12:40, 2:55, 5:15, 7:30, 9:50 and 12:00 Midnight


Friday, June 23, 1967
Sidney Poitier (40) Forecourt Ceremonies
 
Reported Gross "You Only Live Twice"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, June 20, 1967
44
 
2
Tuesday, June 27, 1967
44
 
3
Tuesday, July 4, 1967
44
 
4
Tuesday, July 11, 1967
44
 
5
Tuesday, July 18, 1967
44
 
6
Tuesday, July 25, 1967
44
 
7
Tuesday, August 1, 1967
44
 
8
Tuesday, August 8, 1967
44
 
9
Tuesday, August 15, 1967
44
 
10
Tuesday, August 22, 1967
44
 
Totals
70 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
10 Weeks
Average Performance: $
440
 
Source: Variety
 
 
Wednesday, August 23, 1967 - Tuesday, October 17, 1967 (8 Weeks)
In the Heat of the Night
Starring Sidney Poitier and Rod Steiger
Directed by Norman Jewison
A Norman Jewison - Walter Mirisch Production in DeLuxe Color
A United Artists Release
109 Minutes / Suggested for Mature Audiences
Awarded "Best Picture" by AMPAS, Wednesday, April 10, 1968, Santa Monica Civic Auditorium, Santa Monica
"La Pig-Al Patrol" Starring The Inspector / Directed by Gerry Chiniguy / A DePatie-Freleng Enterprises Production in Color / A United Artists Release
Sunday - Thursday at: 1:10, 3:25, 5:45, 8:00 and 10:20 PM
Friday & Saturday: 12:40, 2:55, 5:15, 7:30, 9:50 and 12:00 Midnight

Reported Gross "In the Heat of the Night"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, August 29, 1967
37
 
2
Tuesday, September 5, 1967
37
 
3
Tuesday, September 12, 1967
37
 
4
Tuesday, September 19, 1967
37
 
5
Tuesday, September 26, 1967
37
 
6
Tuesday, October 3, 1967
37
 
7
Tuesday, October 10, 1967
37
 
8
Tuesday, October 17, 1967
37
 
Totals
48 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
8 Weeks
Average Performance: $
296
 
Source: Variety
 
World Premiere, Wednesday, October 18, 1967 @ 8:00 PM
Regular Engagement: Thursday, October 19, 1967 - Tuesday, December 19, 1967 (9 Weeks)
Jungle Book
with the voices of Phil Harris and Sabastian Cabot
Directed by Wolfgang Reitherman
A Walt Disney Production in Technicolor
A Buena Vista Distribution Company Release
78 Minutes
"Charlie the Lonesome Cougar" Starring Ron Brown and Brian Russell / Directed by Winston Hibler / A Walt Disney Release in Technicolor / A Buena Vista Distribution Company Release
"Jungle Book" Daily at: 1:35, 4:30, 7:20 and 10:15 PM
(10:45 AM Saturday and Sunday)
"Cougar" Daily at: 12:10, 3:00, 5:35 and 8:45
(11:49 AM Saturday and Sunday)
Stars attending the Premiere:
Diane Baker / Polly Bergan / Janet Blair / Carol Burnett / Sebastian Cabot / Bob Crane / Buddy Ebsen / Zsa Zsa Gabor / James Garner / Charlton Heston / Sterling Holloway / Lord Tim Hudson / Dean Jones / Fred MacMurray / Nancy Olsen / Paul Petersen / Louis Prima / Cesar Romero / / Curt Russell / Dick Smothers / Sonny & Cher / Lesley Ann Warren

Premiere Festivities Telecast Live, 7:00 - 8:00 PM, on KTTV, Channel 11 / Disneyland Characters / 125 Piece Marching "Safari" Band / Louis Prima with Sam Butera and his "Witnessess"

Reported Gross "Jungle Book"
Week
Week Ending
Perfs.
Gross
1
Tuesday, October 24, 1967
27
 
2
Tuesday, October 31, 1967
30
 
3
Tuesday, November 7, 1967
30
 
4
Tuesday, November 14, 1967
30
 
5
Tuesday, November 21, 1967
30
 
6
Tuesday, November 28, 1967
30
 
7
Tuesday, December 5, 1967
30
 
8
Tuesday, December 12, 1967
30
 
9
Tuesday, December 19, 1967
30
 
Totals
63 Days
Daily Average: $
--
--
9 Weeks
Average Performance: $
267
 
Source: Variety
 
Wednesday, December 20, 1967 - Tuesday, February 20, 1968 (9 Weeks)
Valley of the Dolls
Starring Barbara Parkins and Patty Duke
Directed by Mark Robson
A 20th Century-Fox Picture in Panavision and DeLuxe Color
123 Minutes / Suggested for Mature Audiences
Daily at: 12:55, 3:20, 5:40, 9:05 and 10:30 PM
 
© Copyright graumanschinese.org. Background Photo: From the Terry Helgesen Collection of the Theatre Historical Society, Elmhurst, Illinios.